A Modern Marvel Remembered

gty_apple_macintosh_ss_140122_ssh

My first computer. Seems like only a few downloads and a flurry of crashes ago. Initially, I couldn’t really make heads or tails of this gizmo. However, I soon learned how to issue it commands that would give me a bang for my buck…and, with a price tag of $2, 495, I was expecting quite a bang.

Macintosh Computer (1984): Debuting 30 years ago today, the Macintosh 128k was Apple’s first personal computer where users didn’t rely on text commands. Instead, they could access their programs by clicking on icons with a mouse.

Source: ABC News (for more photos of oldie but goodie computers.)

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments on “A Modern Marvel Remembered

  1. Scout Paget says:

    Ah yes, the graphic interface and a mouse – revolutionary! 😀

    • GrayFoxDown says:

      When I first set eyes on it, I felt like one of the hominids in the Dawn of Man sequence of 2001: A Space Odyssey clustered around the Monolith. In fact, I oftentimes still feel like that when it comes to computer-related stuff.

Comments are closed.