Greenwich Village

I lived in Greenwich Village while attending NYU. In those days (the mid- 1970s), the neighborhood teeter-tottered on dilapidation and gentrification. Nowadays, it teeter-totters on elegant dilapidation and exorbitant rents. But some of my most cherished memories are forever hovering throughout this place, even though I’m a native (hence, jaded) New Yorker.

Fabulous 50's

Greenwich Village in New York City is very similar to what I had envisioned through the years it might be like.  Artsy and colorful with beautiful old buildings!

Having arrived in the City the night before, with only four days to explore, I got an early start the following morning walking the 3/4th of a mile to the train, from the home of my Couchsurfing hostess–Maria and her parents–in Brooklyn.  The train ride into Manhattan took anywhere from 35 – 50 minutes, depending on where I was headed, and if I needed to transfer trains.  My experience taking trains in Europe was good practice for the subway here.

I had purchased a book about New York City and tore out the walking tours to have some type of map and plan.  Even with the map, the streets in Greenwich are a bit confusing, because they wind around and connect…

View original post 196 more words

