King of Kings and Hipsters

hipster-christ2

“If you know that I am an unbeliever, then you know me better than I do myself. I may be an unbeliever, but I am an unbeliever who has a nostalgia for a belief.”– Pier Paolo Pasolini

Hosanna in the Highest. Brooklyn’s Catholic Diocese has now outdone itself in the field of  marketing by giving a new age spin to that miracle-spinning virtuoso from Bethlehem. Meet the 21st century’s new and improved Jesus Christ …re-resurrected as the original hipster.

As Katie McDonough at Salon notes, Jesus “was a carpenter, and craftsmanship is big in Brooklyn right now.” Not to mention that he famously turned water into wine, “which is very do-it-yourself and kind of locavore-ish.” And don’t forget the beard: http://bit.ly/ZTjp20

The Diocese was somewhat embarrassed that the ad was released unintentionally, appropriately perhaps, on April 1 (April Fools’ Day, of course). But since it’s gone to such groovy extremes, why should that matter anymore? Here in Park Slope, everyday seems like April Fools Day bordering on Halloween.

hipster1-christ

Jesus: The ‘original hipster’?–The Week

