Nostalgic Junk…Ours Was A Corvair

Henry Grant “Street playground,” April 1967 – on view at the Museum of the City of New York

I always wondered where our family car ended up. Apparently, these long-ago kids are enjoying it more than we did. Personally, even though I was only 13 at the time, I proposed having it rigged with thermite, lighting the fuse, and putting it out of its misery.

But I’m just kidding. We actually owned a 1961 Chevy Corvair, prominently featured in the pages of Ralph Nader‘s Unsafe at Any Speed. Time ranked it one of the 50 Worst Cars of All Time…my family always strived for excellence. To the surprise of friends, relatives and strangers alike (who had laid 15-to-1 against us), it actually ran very well; we all survived. I loved it, and was sorry to see it go when it ultimately took its final spin down memory lane.

NYC-ARTS

