Independence Day – The Fourth Of July

Romancing the Bee

It seems very odd to celebrate the United States’ declaration of independence from Great Britain  just a few days after my return from the  beloved Mother Country.

Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but I believe the two countries could be united very comfortably these days.  The “Special Relationship” and all…

But in 1776, Great Britain had long been a great nation of pomp and circumstance, while the New World was a wilderness populated with radical thinkers, adventurers, and sundry undesirables.  We were a troublesome colony, and revolution was inevitable.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my country.  I’ll post about the celebratory fireworks, parades, barbecues, carnivals, fairs, picnics, and concerts.

But I’ll remember that most of the rights and freedoms we enjoy today are those we brought with us from England.  And I remain convinced that our English heritage is stronger than the forces that drove us apart.

God…

View original post 4 more words

One comment on “Independence Day – The Fourth Of July

  1. […] Independence Day – The Fourth Of July (ariel51.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.