JACKSON ON THE BLOCK

Michael Jackson will finally be buried, perhaps for the last time, on August 29; this would’ve marked his 51st birthday. While many had thought that Wacko Jacko had already been interred at Glendale Forest Lawn Memorial Park in Glendale, California, the sensationally lamented singer was in fact frozen at the cemetery all this time: the “King of Pop” had now become the “King of Popsicles.

While MJ will be interred in the Great Mausoleum at Forest Lawn during a private ceremony, a public celebration will take place in Fort Green, Brooklyn. Spike Lee, noted filmmaker and savvy impresario, is organizing a block party to honor the larger than life/ stranger than fiction celebrity. Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz (less talented than Lee but no less savvy) will proclaim the date “Michael Jackson Day” in honor of the singer whose “eccentric genius” did wonders for pop music and tabloid publications.

The director recently talked to Time about the singer as well, recalling their first meeting, which took place in Brooklyn. “Michael Jackson called me up and said, ‘Spike, I want meet you, I’m coming to New York.’ I said, ‘Well where you want to meet?’ He says, I want to come to your house.’ I live in Brooklyn! He wants to come to my house! So, Michael Jackson came to my house in Brooklyn, New York—this was when I was living in Fort Greene. I dunno if he’d ever been there before. We spent like two or three hours just talking. I mean, we’re the same age. I’m less than a year older than him. To be honest, I dominated the conversation, because I was trying to really tell him how much impact he had on my life. And I could just not believe that Michael Jackson was sitting in my living room in Brooklyn, New York. It was amazing.”

In closing, who are we lesser mortals to argue with the whims and wiles of genius when it’s worth a fortune in sensationalism?

The Gothamist

UPDATE (8/21): The burial date has now been moved to September 3.

Media_httpimgzemantac_sifft

